Morpeth win 7 Way Interclub Competition - Sunday 24th November 2013.

On Sunday 24th November 2013, Blyth Photographic Society hosted the Northern Counties Photographic Federation
7 Way Interclub Knockout Competition.

The seven clubs that make up the Northern Area were invited to take part and Alnwick & District Camera Club, Amble
Photographic Group, Blyth Photographic Society, Cambois Camera Club, Morpeth Camera Club, Wooler Camera Club
and Ashington Co-op Camera Club, all submitted twenty digital images, fifteen to be shown at any one time, together
with five substitutes that could be used at each clubs discretion to replace images used in the previous round.

These images were judged live by a panel of three judges, Alan McCormick, Ian Woodley and Trevor Roxby who each
gave a mark out of five using an automatic scoring machine which gave an immediate total for each image shown

In the first round all seven clubs competed against each other with the four highest scoring clubs Cambois, Morpeth,
Ashington & Amble going forward to compete in the semi final of the Trophy Competition.

In a this semi final Cambois (163 marks) and Morpeth (162 marks) went through to the final, leaving Ashington 3rd
and Amble 4th.

The three lowest scoring clubs Alnwick, Blyth & Wooler dropped out to compete for the Plate Trophy and in a close
contest Blyth (155 marks) were the victors, followed by Alnwick (153 marks), then Wooler (140 marks).

The Final of the Trophy Competition was also very tight & the tension mounted with the lead swapping several times
between the two finalists before Morpeth Camera Club (166 marks) came out on top with Cambois (163 marks)
finishing runners up.

Club president Vince Rooker collected the trophy on behalf of the club, much to the delight of the loud contingent of
Morpeth members who had travelled to support.

This was a very good win for Morpeth who had not won this competition for several years and thanks should go to
the ten different club members, Steve Mcdonald, Vince Rooker, Chris Earl, Davy Bolam, Glyn Trueman, Neil Baxter,
Elaine Illingworth, Dave Illingworth, Ian Cadwallender, Mark Harrison, whose images were used and to the pdi comp
sec who selected the images and with some inspired substitutions got a the required result.