Club Meeting Report, 1st Open Print Results - Tuesday 19th November 2013.

On Tuesday 19th November 2013, Vice Chairman, Glyn Trueman welcomed Alan McCormick, LRPS, a member of Hexham
Camera Club, to judge the clubs 1st Open Print Competition.
One hundred and one images were submitted and being an open competition members had the opportunity to display their
individual style of photography.
In the mono section, sailing vessels, leaves, church interiors, wildlife and natural history, fiords and coastal scenes were
included in the subject matter.
In the colour section there was a wide variety of subjects from birds of prey, winter frosts, abstract flowers, puffins, children, silhouettes at sunset, foreign travel, reflections and clouds.
Alan, giving very constructive comments, stressed that his main criteria for a good photograph is that firstly it must be sharp, contain a good lead in and the importance of good cropping and mounting. He was looking for good tonal range, texture and
good use of light, shade and colour.
With these qualities taken into consideration, Alan's selection was a follows:

Monochrome Print Results

1st 2nd 3rd

1st - Is My Mommy Here by Dave Illingworth.
2nd - The Look by Chris Earl.
3rd - See no Evil, Hear no Evil, Speak no Evil by John Thompson.
4th - Cross Country by Vince Rooker.
5th - Crossing the Bar by John Thompson.

Highly Commended were awarded to Grandmas Touch by Elaine Illingworth, Wool Spinner by Elaine Illingworth, Pier Steps
by Ian Cadwallender and The Power Surge by Elaine Illingworth.

Colour Print Results

1st 2nd 3rd

1st - Tulip by Vince Rooker.
2nd - Secret Indulgence by Mark Harrison.
3rd - Watching the Drift by Dave Illingworth.
4th - Blue Day by Ian Cadwallender.
5th - Cars and Character by John Thompson.

Highly Commended were awarded to Purple Poppy by Elaine Illingworth, Rain in Spain by Chris Randall, Noon by
John Thompson and In the Garden by Elaine Illingworth.

Glyn thanked Alan for taking the time to view and comment on each print and congratulated the club members for submitting
such an interesting and enjoyable print entry.